Our “New” Motor Home


We took the plunge yesterday! We purchased a 2003 Allegro 31 foot  motor home.

Image

Just a few weeks ago we were again.talking about going to Alaska. Neither of us have seen this vast wilderness and have talked about going for years. I hate the idea of flying commercial and driving a car didn’t have too much appeal….However, I have always wanted to drive the Alaska Highway….so, what about doing it in a motor home? The idea began to take shape. Ronnie was very enthusiastic about it. 

We began talking about all the other trips we might take; how we might use it. We love the west so going back to Nevada and Utah sounded like great fun. Neither of us have been to New England sightseeing so that’s on the list. We love the Smokies so occasional little trips to the Great Smokey Mountains are likely.

In the winter I make several trips to Seminole-Lake Gliderport to fly gliders. Now we even have a practical use for it. I would likely leave it there all winter so when I go fly I stay in our motor home. Of course, I would likely keep it at Caesar Creek Soaring Club for several weeks in the summer. We have a travel trailer there now. We’ll sell the travel trailer and stay in our motor home there in the campground. That’s how the idea took shape.

When I was in Ohio in mid-April I went to see some Class B motorhomes. Ronnie thought they were too small  and for us they are. Next, we looked at a couple of Class C coaches.. I thought I would end up with one of these, maybe in the 22 to 24 foot range.I decided to see what I could learn about all this by looking at the various on line forums. I eventually posted a topic on the RV Forum Community. The idea was to get input on Class C units under 25 feet.

Eventually, after keeping this topic going for nearly two weeks, all these RV veterans convinced me that I needed to think bigger than 25 feet and I really should consider a Class A motorhome. Thanks to all their great suggestions and responses to my questions I bought a 31 foot Class A. Ronnie and I think it’s perfect…..here are some more pictures:

2003 Allegro 014

2003 Allegro 0052003 Allegro 015We are really looking forward to our first camping experience in our “new” Allegro. I will post about it when it happens about the third week in June

10 thoughts on “Our “New” Motor Home

  1. cant wait to see a pic of Ronnie behind the wheel.Looks like a great deal.Need to get those party lights, to string up at camp sites.

  2. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate
    it.

  3. Looks like a nice coach. Any chance you can tell me something about dingy towing a 2006 Acura TSX (manual transmission)?

    • I checked out the Acura TSX because we had one ,a 2003 model with manual trans, and it can be towed. However, we sold it and are now towing a Manual trans Mini Cooper Convertible…..tows well. You hardly know it’s back there. The Acura should be similar….need a baseplate in the Acura and all the stuff to hook it up plus I would recommend the RVI2 Brake….

      We went with Blue Ox for baseplate and all the towing stuff and I am very happy with it

      Good luck, Jim

Leave a Reply

