Soaring in January at Seminole-Lake Gliderport


We had three straight days of good soaring at Seminole-Lake Gliderport January 24 through 26. I logged a bit over 10 hours in the DG-800 in three flights.Temperatures were in the low 80’s, cumulus clouds were abundant, thermals were strong and we were able to get high every day. During the first flight I had the privilege of soaring with a lone Wood Stork and the second day I was in a thermal with two Bald Eagles. Circling in a thermal with these wonderfull birds is one of the great things about flying gliders. The birds don’t seem to mind as long as you don’t get too close.

Wood Stork Soaring

These are both majestic species who love to soar and the Wood Stork in flight is a magnificent sight with legs outstretched and wings spanning up to 6 feet.

On the last day I shot some video clips with my Go Pro Hero . The little Go Pro is an incredible camera. I’ve had mine for a couple years and I continue to be amazed by the quality packed into this little box.

Go Pro Hero

I got mine with the head strap accessory so that you can wear it like a hat. The idea is that the video will be of whatever you are looking at. However, I found that the camera is so small  you can get great results just holding it. That’s how I took the clips in the YouTube video that follows. The field of view is an incredible 170 degrees. So, you can hold the camera out at arms length and take video of yourself for example. Because of the very wide field of view it appears that the camera is several feet away. Of course, this also causes the horizon to look extremely curved. The bottom line is this camera is a lot of fun.

When I returned home from my soaring trip I was out on the Ocean Creek golf course and saw about a dozen Wood Storks. I mentioned this to a member of the local Audubon club and he said indeed they used to be a rare site here on Fripp Island but he thought maybe the gradual climate change in recent years might account for it. I took this photo along the 13th fairway at Ocean Creek

Wood Stork on Fripp Island golf course

One thought on “Soaring in January at Seminole-Lake Gliderport

Leave a Reply

